Image may be subject to copyright

Who We Are

Miners' Bay Lodge (MBL) is a seasonal lodge and resort (open May 17-Oct 14 for the 2019 season) and a special place to many. To the hundreds of guest families that call MBL their "second home," MBL is more than a venerable summer resort; it upholds values of tradition and provides a family-friendly holiday experience that have kept guests coming back for many years.
Image may be subject to copyright
1940's Era MBL General Store

About Miners' Bay Lodge 

We have a strong and remarkable history at Miners' Bay Lodge and are dedicated to maintaining the family and community "feel" that amazes first-time guests as well as "regulars", whose extended families have been vacationing here for up to six generations.
Miners' Bay on Gull Lake has long been a tourist destination, and those who have experienced its beauty have told others of this unique place.

In 1912, the Percy family travelled from Toronto to rent the farm house (now staff cabin #5) and were so impressed that they chose Gull Lake over Muskoka as their annual vacation spot. The family continues to spend their summers here over a century later!

The Wunker family moved from Ohio in 1938 to purchase the Bay View Hotel, a small tourist establishment that had evolved on the shores of Miners' Bay following WW I. They re-named the business Miners' Bay Lodge and expanded it to its present size. From 1938-2018, three generations of Wunkers operated the business, and introduced the "MBL experience" to thousands of families and guests.
Russ and Dottie Wunker retired in 2018, transitioning Miners' Bay Lodge to a group of long-time guests committed to carrying on the Miners' Bay history.
We invite you to become part of the MBL experience!

Image may be subject to copyright
Family
Image may be subject to copyright
Community
Nature
Family is a strong part of our history. Most of our guests come as families; children have grown up here, many alongside both parents and grandparents. We are proud that many families have been with us for several generations. We pride ourselves on the fun-filled, family environment that we provide to our guests.
The people are a big part of what keep our guests coming back. MBL is a community of friends who enjoy each other's company and have fun together. Many have formed friendships over the years with fellow guests that have turned into lifetime friendships.
Come and enjoy our scenic property and see what the Haliburton Highlands has to offer. Both the outdoor and indoor enthusiasts will enjoy the natural beauty of MBL. Get away from the bustling city and embrace this opportunity to unplug, recharge, and relax.

History

Image may be subject to copyright

Image may be subject to copyright

David Galloway moved from Norland to Miners' Bay in the 1870's, and set up a saw mill in the creek. Around 1875 he constructed this farm house and he became Miners' Bay's first Post Master in 1908. In those days, this building served as residence, store and Post Office. Originally, the structure sat where the MBL Tea Room is now situated. It was moved to the current location when the MBL Winter House was erected in the 1930's. This building is now known as MBL staff cabin # 5.

Image may be subject to copyright

Image may be subject to copyright

This is what MBL looked like a century ago, c. 1918! The Cameron Road was a colonization road that had reached Moore's Falls by the mid 1860's and in 1867 the road was extended to what is now MBL. A wooden pole bridge crossed the Round Lake Creek at Miners' Bay and continued on to Minden. During WWI, the first part of the Main Lodge was constructed to accommodate tourists who were starting to visit the area

Image may be subject to copyright

Image may be subject to copyright

Before it was Miners' Bay Lodge, MBL was originally the Bay View Hotel.

Image may be subject to copyright

Image may be subject to copyright



In 1938
, the Wunker family purchased the Bay View Hotel and renamed it Miners' Bay Lodge. The original accommodations consisted of four cottages, the farm house/post office (cottage 5), seven rooms in the winter house and 19 rooms in the lodge building.
That first season in July of 1938 started off slowly, and questions lingered as to whether the business would be a success. The family held on to grocery boxes just in case they would need to give up the Lodge after the first season. However, the business began to catch on and the grocery boxes were discarded, and Miners' Bay Lodge was an established institution

Image may be subject to copyright

Image may be subject to copyright

This image shows how traditions at MBL have both changed – and remained the same! At first glance, it would appear that this image shows a 1950's Stunt Nite. As they still do, Stunt Nite acts and presentations took place on the stage on Thursday evenings. Thus, while it is possible that this performer has moved her act to the main floor, this possibly this was a "special performance". Often, in the early days, other events and activities took place in the Rec Hall if there were guests staying at the Lodge that week who had special talents. © Russ Wunker 


Image may be subject to copyright


Image may be subject to copyright

Those looking for more MBL history can purchase Russ Wunker's The First Fifty Years in the MBL Gift Shop, as well as follow us on social media for #wunkerwednesday updates!